The Illusionist (2010)

this is kind of a hard film to review. it is very well made and animated. I love the directors previous work (Triplets of Belleville, go see it now)  and its has a great and touching story, but I don’t think I ever really want to watch it again. ok first off let me say this movie has almost no dialog and what few words it does have are part gibberish/french/english. Don’t let that dissuade you though it’s only a little over an hour long and the time seems to fly by like nothing. this is about an older struggling magician that finds a younger girl working in a pub he happens to be preforming at. the girl becomes kinda infatuated with him and follows him to the city where the rest of the story takes place. the ending is quite sad and anticlimactic. usually I really like downer endings but I think this kinda touched home a little. I must say though I really did like it and recommend seeing it.

ok after reading a little more about this movie I think this quote by the director sums it up perfectly

“It’s not a romance, it’s more the relationship between a dad and a daughter”

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Illusionist (2010)

Leave a Reply

